Metrology Society of Australasia Conference

NATA MSA Conference 2020

The 2020 Conference of the Metrology Society of Australasia will be held in Melbourne, Australia from 3 – 5 March 2020. The three-day scientific conference will feature presentations and workshops on many aspects of metrology, including:

Traceability and the SI ~ Evaluation of measurement uncertainties
Laboratory practice, accreditation and proficiency testing
Environment and climate change ~ Chemical and biological metrology
Temperature and humidity metrology ~ Dimensional metrology
Electrical metrology ~ Pressure metrology ~ Mass metrology
Flow metrology ~ Photometry and radiometry 

Register Now!

Invited Speakers

Dr Barry D Inglis

Comité International des Poids et Mesures (retired)

“The International Bureau of Weights and Measures (BIPM) and its Role in the 21st Century”

Dr Murray Early

Measurement Standards Laboratory
New Zealand

“The 2019 SI Redefinition: Now what?”

Dr Jonathan Mittaz

University of Reading

“Applying principles of metrology to Earth Observation satellite data”

Dr Colin Allison


“Chemical metrology of atmospheric greenhouse gas measurements”

See the full bios of the invited speakers here.


MSA2020 Speaker Summary

Invited speakers are in italics


Presentation title

Murray Early

The 2019 SI Redefinition: Now what?

Barry Inglis

The International Bureau of Weights and Measures (BIPM) and its Role in the 21st Century

Jonathan Mittaz

Applying principles of metrology to Earth Observation satellite data

Colin Allison

Chemical metrology of atmospheric greenhouse gas measurements

Nigel Guy Gibson

Optimising an 16bit Digital to Analog converter for a low cost 2 decimal point Thermometer

Paul McMullen

Transition to ISO/IEC 17025:2017 & ISO 17034:2016, an accreditation point of view

Daryl Pettit

High temperature calibration of thermocouples

Wenwen Lei

Hysteresis effects on capacitance humidity sensors

Richard Crendal

Alternative methodology for establishing a vacuum scale using a static expansion system

Neil Sturrock

The development of an automated dimensional calibration system to verify the performance of radial gauges

Peter McDowall

A pressure-based kibble balance for realising New Zealand’s kilogram

Fong-Ha Liu

A new steroid reference material to underpin stable carbon isotope ratio measurement in anti-doping analysis

Bill Spath

PMU calibration - why and how?

Giorgio Buonanno

On the influence of different methodologies in the estimate of ultrafine particle dose received by population in all-day activities

Simon Dignan

Preliminary results of Coriolis meter testing over a wide viscosity range

Salam Matalka

A facility for the calibration of flow meters using high viscosity fluids

Zhe Wang

Thermal modelling of a piston prover volumetric flow standard

Rod White

Hysteresis in bimetallic dial thermometers

Tony Bergen

Calibration of photometers – impact of the SI revision and future directions

Robert J. Williams

Verifying stopwatches using the NMIA webtimer

Cynthia Lendrum

Outreach – Why, What and How?

Adam Knight

Modelling the errors of a transfer power standard for improved calibration efficiency

Allister Prosser

Implementation of an integrated management system to meet world best practice

Lenice Evergreen

Boosting the metrology workforce – one apprentice at a time

Tieren Zhang

Calibration techniques for new-generation digital multimeters and calibrators

Ilya Budovsky

NMI standard of electrical power as a reference for phase measurement and characterisation of voltage and current scaling devices

Robert Kay

Intercomparison of CSIRO (AU) – JAMSTEC (Japan) – NCOSM (China) oceanographic calibrations facilities

Wei Yan

Calibration of high-voltage modules of electromagnetic compatibility test sets

Wei Yan

Traceable calibration for partial discharge calibrators

Jarkkko Ruonala

Improving the performance of relative humidity measurements in high-humidity environments.

Tom Elliott

Zeroing absolute pressure transducers

Tony Bergen

Monte Carlo analysis of complex measurement uncertainty tasks

Calla Klafas

Transitioning to the new re-definition of the SI units

Jane Warne

Consistent measurement in a dynamic world, measuring temperature in the real world

Conference Program

The full programme of the conference will be available shortly.

Conference Schedule

The preliminary conference schedule is as follows:

Monday 2nd March 2020 Welcome reception (evening)   
Tuesday 3rd March 2020 Conference Day 1; Conference dinner at MCG
Wednesday 4th March 2020 Conference Day 2; MSA AGM
Thursday 5th March 2020 Conference Day 3

Conference Venue

The conference will be held at:

The Angliss Conference Centre
555 La Trobe St
Melbourne, Vic, 3000

Click here for more information on the venue and how to get there.

Conference Dinner

Our conference dinner will be held at the iconic MCG on the evening after the first day of the conference.  The dinner will be preceded by a guided tour which will take in key highlights including areas such as the famous Long Room, player change rooms, and a walk on the arena edge (all subject to availability).  The conference dinner is free with the conference registration, and additional tickets can be purchased for accompanying partners, work colleagues, etc.


Don't delay, register now!

  Member Non-Member
Full Registration (3-days)    
Full registration (until 03/02/2020) $600 $650
Late registration $750 $800
Other Options    
1-day conference pass $225 $250
Conference dinner (included with any full registration) $130 $130
Welcome drinks (included with any full registration) $25 $25

Note that Members of the MSA receive a $50 discounted rate.
  Membership is only $45 per year, so click here to Join the MSA now and receive your discount! 

Sponsorship Opportunities

We would like to thank the sponsors that have already committed to MSA2020, shown below.  Your support makes the conference possible.

There are still a variety of sponsorship options available.  For more information please refer to the sponsorship page.


The conference venue has a special arrangement with several nearby hotels at a range of price points.  More information can be found here.

More Information

For more information, please contact the chair of the local organising committee Tony Bergen.

Conference Sponsors

Platinum Sponsor

Dinner and Lanyard Sponsor

Gold Sponsor

Silver Sponsor



Bronze Sponsor



Other Sponsors:
 Supported by: